Family Involvement

Families are a vital component to our program’s success; therefore, we encourage family involvement in our programs and we aim to build strong partnerships with family members of all backgrounds, cultures, ethnicities, and religions. Families are welcome and invited to be active members of the classroom. Throughout the year we host a variety of family engagement opportunities, such as our annual Back to Fall Social BBQ, fundraising events, Spring Sing, Parent Work Day, Board of Directors, and much more. We strive to build a sense of community at our school, since our school is a home away from home for many of our children.

“Alone, we can do so little; together, we can do so much” – Helen Keller

Board of Directors

The Little School Board of Directors is made up of 6 to 10 parents, whom generously volunteer their time to help with the organization of fundraisers, work days, emergency preparedness, and other school events and issues. Board members head committees that insure the smooth running of the school.

The commitment for being a board member is attending a monthly meeting for 1 to 3 hours, overseeing the fiduciary soundness of the organization and helping to organize school events. This job has been rewarding for parents and gives the school an added sense of community. It is also a great way to meet other parents, learn how to be involved in our child’s school and have a rewarding experience.

For more information about serving on our Board and about our application process, please reach out to the Director at (415) 383-9696.

If you are interested in serving on our Board of Directors, please download our application and submit your completed application to info@littleschoolmv.org.

Board of Directors 2020/21

President

Bria Larson

Vice President

Anne-Elise Lansdown

Secretary

Amanda Sandler

Treasurer

Dan Cuddeford

Staff Development

Kristin White

School Safety Lead

Carolyn Coombs

Community Engagement

Katherine Nowak

Staff Development

Marja Westerlaan

School Calendar 2020/2021 MV Calendar 2020-21 pg 6

2020

Fri., Aug. 14 – Wed., Aug. 19th

Teacher Work Days – School Closed

 

Thursday, August 20                                    

First Day of School

 

Monday, September 7

Labor Day-School Holiday

 

Wednesday, November 11

Veteran’s Day-School Holiday

 

Thurs., Nov. 26 & Fri., Nov. 27

Thanksgiving – School Holiday

**School will close at 3:00pm Wed, November 25**

 

Monday, December 21 through

Friday, January 1, 2021

Winter Break/School Holidays

2021

Monday, January 4

School Reopens

 

Monday, January 18

Martin Luther King Jr. Day – School Holiday

 

Monday, February 15

Presidents’ Day – School Holiday

 

Tuesday, February 16

Staff Development Day, School Closed

 

Monday, April 5-9

Spring Break

 

Monday, May 31

Memorial Day – School Holiday

 

Monday, July 5

Independence Day – School Holiday

 

Thursday, July 22                                         

Last Day of School, Pre-K Graduation

 

Friday, July 23

Staff Development, School Closed

 

July 26 – August 13                                       

School Closed

 

August 16– 18

Teacher Work Days – School Closed

 

August 19, 2021

First day of school year 2021/22